Playschool: Now they love it… and other stuff

Day 6, and guess what? Mrini left my finger and entered the school almost before the door was open. Tara was a step behind her! As the door closed behind them, there was the briefest wail of protest from Mrini, and then, silence. The teacher/auntie/coordinator told me afterwards that the girls went into the room where nursery rhymes were being sung (with a gusto, I might add) but lingered at the door, ready to escape if it should close.

In other news, delilone was accorded the highest of honours when she visited the twins for the second time during her short trip to India this year. (To clarify, she has visited them during an earlier trip to India, but they are not likely to remember that now.) The honours? When they wanted to use the toilet, they completely spurned my help and yowled for delilone. Mama and Baba were rejected out of hand, only Auntie would serve for this all-important activity. (Naturally, I was quite happy – less work for me!) I have to say delilone handled it like a pro.

I’m currently recovering from what has been an extraordinarily pleasant weekend. I “persuaded” Amit to take Friday off (he said he would work from home, but I didn’t let him), so it was a long weekend. I worked in a couple of solo outings, and a long, satisfying session of tennis on Saturday. I also gave my bike for servicing on Friday, and I still haven’t gone to pick it up! That says a lot about how lazy (and hectic) the weekend has been.

And tomorrow is Amit’s birthday. Last year, his birthday was a complete fiasco, so this year the plan is to drop the kids with S&S, wait till they’re asleep (the kids, that is, not S&S) and then go for dinner. Let’s see how that works out. Needless to say, I haven’t bought him anything, and it doesn’t look like I’m going to either. But, after the kinds of gifts we got each other last year, I think sometimes gifting nothing is the better option.

3 thoughts on “Playschool: Now they love it… and other stuff

Leave a Reply

