And Then There Were Three

So the twins have totally arrived in the land of make belief. The teddy bear they were acquiring maternal instincts towards has emerged as their full-fledged baby, with all the attendant biological and emotional needs. They feed it, wash and dry its hands and face, give it the bed-time routine and put it to bed, then wake it up and wash and dry its face again, which I never do to them. They carry him around on their hips and console him when he falls down. They talk to him, croon to him, give him lots of hugs and kisses, and make him play football. They wipe his nose on their hankie. And, horror of horrors, they put him on the toilet! They even flush the toilet when he’s done! I thought he would fall in, but luckily he doesn’t. Or, should I say, he hasn’t yet?

And just a few minutes ago, Mrini headed to the cupboard where the diapers are kept and demanded a diaper to put on him before she put him to bed!

Initially, I sort of aided and abetted them in their parenting, but now I’m wondering: perhaps this has gone too far? I mean, if they want to bathe, oil him, and dress him next, I’m in trouble. I’ll have to buy a whole new set of clothes. And shoes. And miniature diapers. Not to mention stuffed-teddy-bear-proof soap and oil.

Sigh. I’m not sure I’m ready for another baby right now. Can this wait a few years?

7 thoughts on “And Then There Were Three

  1. Lubi :)

    πŸ˜† that is soooo darn adorable!!

    Anamika, there is this Bear Factory here in a mall, where kids can go and choose what kind of soft toy they want, and they can fill the cotton in the bear themselves of course with the help of the staff there and they stitch him up, all thanx to an amazing machine they have.

    Then the kids go around the store picking up clothes, shoes & accessories for their bear, which they can determine as male or female themselves. And in the end of all that, they can choose to type out a birth certificate πŸ˜€ and take it all home πŸ™‚

    It’s really fun! My daughter’s got 2 teddies like that uptil now…which she won’t ever part with I guess! And she is 9 yrs old now, and she got them when she was 4 and 5.

    Sigh πŸ™‚ I miss my childhood!!

    Reply
  2. Siri

    That is so funny. Your kids would have a fabulous time at that bear shop that Lubi mentions- build a bear. It is so much fun that I got 4 bears from there!!!! So you can imagine how much fun the kids have. πŸ™‚

    I do hope that they dont start to demand a seperate supply of diapers, oil and clothes for their little ‘baby’. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Lubi :)

    haa haaaa πŸ˜€ imagining them oiling the bears πŸ˜†

    Even more fun is imagining Anamika’s face πŸ˜€

    Reply
  4. poupee97

    Siri: I remember reading about the build-a-bear outing in your blog long ago. Yes, I’m sure they;d love that.

    Nice idea, Lubi.

    Oiling the bears… trying to not let them think of that… πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. AM

    Yesterday Tara almost managed to stuff the bear into the potty in front of my eyes. So please don’t egg them on too much!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

