Nice. Dirty.

I know what you’re thinking, but it isn’t like that at all.

Last week when my parents were visiting (for three days, to renew their bonds with the kids), we all went out to dinner. Seeing that I’ve actually lost some weight at last (a whole quarter kg, don’t laugh!) I put on an old black full-length skirt and a deep purple silky/shimmery blouse that used to be a favourite of mine before it started showing all the tyres.

As soon as I came out of my room, Mrini took one look at me, her face lit up and she uttered a loud, enthusiastic and completely spontaneous “Nice!”

That made me feel like a million dollars, quite apart from the astonishment that the two-year-old pipsqueak is even starting to notice such things.

She did it again today – unfortunately, not to me, but to the pillow, which was wearing a never-worn-before pillow cover. It didn’t have quite the same effect on me, but maybe that old pillow felt like a million dollars.

I haven’t bothered with teaching the kids the concept of dirty, much. If they want to put their hands in something dirty, I usually just stop them (if it’s really dirty, that is; common, garden variety of dirt never hurt anyone) but I don’t tell them something is dirty – I don’t want to put adult notions of dirty into their little heads right now.

But some concept of dirty seems to come in-built. There was a dead cockroach lying in the verandah yesterday (a horrible, big one, ewwww), and Mrini saw it. She crumpled her face up into her disgusted+scared look, pointed at it and complained to me: dirty.

Other than that, their verbal abilities don’t seem to be going anywhere beyond telling me to sit down, get up, and pick it up. Oh and their stock favourites, of course: “how-are-you-fine-thank-you; bless-you-thank-you-welcome; happy-birthday-to-you; give-me-please; ok-see-you-bye.”

I’m just waiting for the day when I’ll be able to have an actual conversation with them.

Till then I can make do with the “nice” very nicely, thank you.

4 thoughts on “Nice. Dirty.

  1. Lubi :)

    And when that day arrives, Anamika 😀 you’ll be wishing they’d shut up!!
    Or if you could suddenly turn invisible 😆
    But nevertheless, it’s awesome when you will be able to share your deep down emotions with your princesses and they will not judge you but comfort you 🙂
    That my dear, is just an out-of-this-world feeling! 😀

    Reply
  2. Arun

    it will be interesting when they start the actual conversation..
    they will start with full excitement..and suddenly they will be lost totally and throw a smile.. 🙂
    the kid in my ground floor is like that..he always wants to tell so many thing to me but he will be lost in finding the words.

    Reply
  3. Roopa

    i think the conversation part will take a while. Mani has just started broken sentences, he mixes, hindi, mallu and english and this way we take longer to decipher what he wants to say. So you may have to wait a little longer for the conversation 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

