Birthday Coming Up

Ten months ago, when we’d had the kids for less than a month, it seemed like it would take until eternity for their second birthday, their first with us, to roll around. (In case you haven’t been following this blog, let me explain that we adopted the twins when they were 13 months old last September.)

Now it’s only a couple of weeks away, and I’m worried. I’m so not a big party sort of person. I mostly avoided big parties on my own birthday as a child and since then nothing has changed. Unfortunately, Amit is just the opposite. He had 50-person parties as a child and would love to do the same even now.

So, while I would like to call just a couple of close friends for the twins’ first/second birthday, Amit is gunning to invite every person we know in Bangalore, even some whom we haven’t met in years. It won’t come to 50 people, but counting adults and children, it’ll be close. According to Amit, having 12 kids under 5 running around the house closely followed by 20-odd parents will be great fun; according to me, it will be chaos, confusion, and complete disaster.

And that’s just our friends. The twins have their own friends whom they meet in the park and whose company they might even enjoy on their birthday. If we invite all those kids along with parents and siblings, that’s going to be a whole party in its own right.

So now we’re gearing up for two parties, one the evening before their birthday, which will be drinks and dinner, in other words the “adult” party. The other will be late afternoon of the actual birthday, with neighbourhood kids, chips, sandwiches, and of course, birthday cakes.

I’m not cooking a thing for either of these two parties, if I have my way. Amit is keen for me to at least rustle up the cakes for the dinner party, but I’m not promising anything. As far as I’m concerned, all the food is going to be ordered in, and served on paper plates and styrofoam glasses.

What we will have to do is to somehow decorate the house so it looks like a kiddies’ birthday party. That’s a daunting enough prospect for me – streamers and balloons are simply not my thing – and the idea of having to do it twice in two days is giving me the heebiejeebies, or, as I prefer to call it, the igglywigglies. Add to that the organizing of two different types of food and drink and the whole thing just does not look like a cake walk to me. Admittedly, I’m a rather unsocial person who prefers my parties to be small and close, but is that such a terrible thing to wish upon your two-year-old twins?

9 thoughts on “Birthday Coming Up

  1. Siri

    Hey, when is the day? Also, I dont think it is a terrible thing to wish for smaller parties for the twins. I dont remember a single birthday of mine until I turned 5 so I think any birthday party given before a child can even begin to remember and retain information is pretty much for the adults and not for the children. Whatever works in the end for all of you is the best 🙂
    Hey, do you have something like a party city or party works there in Bangalore? You know, a place that sells only decorations and stuff? Those places tend to have good birthday decorations of the open and stick kind.

    Reply
  2. Sadia

    My hubby and had a weeks-long argument about how to handle the girls’ 2nd birthday party (he was in Iraq for the first) until we came to the realization that we wanted the same thing: minimal prep, no cleanup, child-focused. So we had a party at the park, with 6 other children, their assorted parents, and my in-laws. It was lovely.

    You might enjoy this website: http://www.birthdayswithoutpressure.org/

    Reply
  3. poupee97

    Andy, Siri: It’s 25 August. Hey, you both are invited, if you can make it for the kiddies’ party. 5.30 on Monday afternoon.

    Sadia: I’d love to do it at the park, but it’s too public, I feel. And we’d have a lot of work to do in getting all the stuff over there. Still, I’d love that – yours must have been fun.

    Reply
  4. AM

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!! Where’s the spirit, I ask. Tell me how much fun it will be to put up streamers and balloons. The kids will love it. They will run with the streamers all over the house. They will get glue on their fingers. They will get to see balloons being inflated and ask for “more”. They will say “pease” to each other and fight over the decorations. Mrini will lie down and throw a tantrum. Tara will sit on Mrini’s tummy and try to stuff an inflated balloon down her throat. And I will be taking videos of all of this and share it with the whole world. We will laugh when we see it now, the kids will laugh when they see it years later and we will laugh when we are 80 years old.

    Come on, it’s not so bad.

    Who needs a website for birthday party instructions when we can simply use our imagination.

    I can’t wait to get the glue on my fingers :-).

    -Amit

    Reply
  5. poupee97

    AM:That’s not the part that has me worried. I’m worried about when there are 13 children and 20 parents running around screaming, wailing, throwing cake, spilling drinks and slipping in the mess. That’s the part I’m worried about.

    Reply
  6. Lubi :)

    Well, Happy B’day to Tara ‘n Mrini 😎

    I hope the parties go well…and the kiddos get loads of lovely gifts 🙂

    I wish I could meet you ‘n your twins some day 🙂 I even dreamt about them the other night…it felt funny as I’ve never seen ’em before…but in my dream, it felt absolutely wonderful holding them both in my arms!

    You are so blessed, Anamika…may God continue to shower Amit Bhai ‘n you with more blessings 🙂 Amen.

    Do share the party pics with us, if it isn’t too much of a trouble!

    Siri, do give the twins a big hug (from me) when you meet them in Blr! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

