The Toilet Training Saga – Penultimate Chapter

Phew!

I was quite dreading toilet training the twins way back in June when I hadn’t started but thought I should. I hadn’t a clue how to go about it and even more worrisome was the fact that every new article I read about it warned of timeframes stretching from 3 months to a year and beyond!

And now, looking back, I can’t believe it was so easy. One week they were refusing to use their little floor-level potties, the next week they were running for the high toilet seat as though they’d been doing that since forever. Altogether, it took less than six weeks to get to a state of relative stability and predictability. And the worst was over in two to three weeks.

Now it’s still ten days short of two months, and I’d say that the twins are pretty much “house trained”. Accidents are down to fewer than one in two days (between the two of them) and false alarms are about one or two per head per day, down from about 30. The total number of toilet calls has reduced, and they even go dry an hour or more at times. The last nut to crack was Tara’s potty, which tended to land everywhere but in the toilet, but she seems to have got a handle on that in the last few days.

I can’t believe how quickly it has all settled down. I still clearly recall the tension and stress of those first few days, when absolutely everything in the house was liable to be peed on (if not worse). It was really tough keeping any eye on both of them, running behind them when I thought they wanted to go, trying to coax them to use their little potties. Then there was the phase when they would run to the bathroom but go standing up in the shower stall, resulting in a trail of pee down their legs. Ugh.

But it all turned around so quickly and easily after I got them the toilet seat for the adult toilet. Even the significant dislocation of our ten-day trip to Delhi and Chandigarh, and the subsequent bout of diarrhoea did not make much of a dent in their desire or ability to use the toilet. All I can say is: Hallelujah!

A few challenges are left. Because they can’t hold on for very long, we still can’t risk taking them out without diapers. Also, they haven’t taken to wearing underwear yet – I hope they get that idea before they go to school, but right now it doesn’t worry me much. And finally, they still can’t go to the bathroom on their own – they need me for moral, emotional, physical, and logistical support. But, well… given how cooperative they’ve been in this whole process, I’m not complaining.

5 thoughts on “The Toilet Training Saga – Penultimate Chapter

  1. Siri

    Congratulations!! I dont know if this will reassure you or not but I remember being in Kindergarten and doing the big job and an ayah having to clean me up. I dont think it was a one time occurrence either….I think Mrini and Tara will be jusr fine. 🙂

    Reply
  2. andaleebwajid

    🙂 When are u planning to put them in playschool? Know of any good ones nearby? Maybe Az, Mrini and Tara can be classmates,…just hope he wont bite them!!!

    As an aside, my brother in laws wife has already enrolled her child, who is all of 1 year, 9 months, in a school about two months back, when he was even younger. Can you believe that? Its some hi fi schooling concept …cant remember the name….and its a hit worldwide apparently….gosh…she came and asked me if i was interested in enrolling az there and I said no way….as it is kids get a bad deal when they grow up..the amt of hard work and study…let him enjoy life while he can!!!

    Reply
  3. poupee97

    Andy: We’re thinking of a Montessori school, which starts at 2.6, probably next June. Will probably not send them to playschool before that, or maybe to something very nearby for an hour or two from Jan-Feb next year. No way I’d want to put my kids in school at 1.6! Even if I had had them since birth, but even less so cos we only got them at 13 months.

    Reply
  4. andaleebwajid

    True. I was thinking of Head Start. Its somewhere in Koramangala, I don’t remember where. We’d gone to check that place out when Sab was small but it seemed a bit too much for us to send him from BTM to Koramangala. Theres also Euro Kids, but I don’t know if those ‘branded’ places actually are any good for the kids. Sab started at 2.6 and I hope to do the same with Az also, next June, inshallah. Let me know if you find out abt any good place in Kora!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

