Gastro

Being down with gastroenteritis is not fun. Of course, you already knew this. I’m only telling you this because I just experienced this first hand. The kids had not even recovered from their stomach bug when I went down with a dramatic episode of vomiting and diarrhoea on Monday night. And when I say I went down with it, I mean I really, really went down with it.

By the time I finally went to the doctor on Thursday morning, I hadn’t eaten for three days. How I was still functioning, I don’t know, but I could only stay upright if I didn’t eat. Even a few bites of generally wholesome food was guaranteed to put me on the throne for the next several hours.

Night times were interrupted by mission-critical rushes to the bathroom and suddenly I could appreciate more clearly than ever before the full advantage of keeping the twins bare-bottomed instead of wasting vital seconds pulling down pants.

And the fever came and went and came again.

Amit took almost the entire week off, but compensated for that by working overtime on his automobile research and purchase program.

And there were oh-so-many cars to test-drive – more than I had energy for. 😦

And I still had my income tax return to complete and file!

While the twins tried their best to bite, hit, pull and push each other out of existence.

All I can say is, thank god and Alexander Fleming for antibiotics. Where would we be without them?

5 thoughts on “Gastro

  1. wendz

    Wow what a nightmare! Sorry to hear that you are so sick. There really is nothing worse feeling so bad and having to look after kids. Hope you get better real quick.

    The twins are starting to talk … that is so sweet. I remember when my boy started – everybody thought he was talking Chinese!!!!! but I understood him. Moms do that.

    Look after yourself love.

    Reply
  2. Siri

    I hope you feel better soon. I know what it is like to have Gastro and…well. Hey by the way, I hope you didnt think that the comment I left on your Blast post was directed at you.(especially the casual reporting of the one casualty bit)
    A lot of the articles I saw on the NY Times and CNN left a lot to be desired because of course if anything is happening anywhere outside of the US it only warrants a brief mention, no matter how many people died. I’m just coming from reading Christina’s blog and how the number of casualties reported kept changing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

