Toilet-Training the Twins: Two Steps Forward…

Wow. Things are certainly hotting up around here with the girls going all out to out-do each other and win the toilet-training contest. Their every success is rewarded with a few sips of Tropicana Premium unsweetened orange juice, which they love (good business for Tropicana, bet they never thought of this sales opportunity). It must be served to them at the dining table… in a glass glass, if you please. And they would rather not share the glass on the occasions when they both earn their rewards at the same time.

The good news is that Mrini has clearly realized that the bathroom is where you go to pee, and that peeing in the bathroom leads to an orange juice reward. What she still doesn’t get is the squatting bit, or the concept of the potty. So, every time she wants orange juice (which is many times), I get to do a lot of cleaning up. But. It’s progress – just yesterday, she was happy to mess anywhere in the house, now she actually says “potty” and makes a beeline for the bathroom!

Tara is equally keen on the orange juice reward, but, unlike Mrini, she can’t always produce on demand, so she’s had fewer successes. She’s very keen to learn, though – which is a good thing. It seems to be easier to train a child who wants to learn even if she doesn’t yet have the ability, than to work with one that has the ability but doesn’t yet want to use it.

Still, successes in the shower stall notwithstanding, two girls running around bare-bottomed is pretty much a full time occupation for me. There’s not a single task I can complete undisturbed during this time – at all times I have to be ready to drop whatever I’m doing – and I do mean WHATEVER – and rush one of the girls (or, worse, both) to the bathroom. The disruption to life as I knew it is immense – something I’m still trying to cope with. I suppose it’s a good deal of exercise, running around and mopping up behind them, not to mention doing quite a bit to dampen my appetite – it should be helping in Mission Weight Control. All the same, around early evening, when I’ve had enough for the day, I take the easy way out and put the diapers back on. There’s only so much I can do, after all, without completely losing my sanity. And tomorrow, as they say, is another day.

8 thoughts on “Toilet-Training the Twins: Two Steps Forward…

  1. Andaleeb

    gosh….u sound like ur the chicken running around without the head!!!! 😀
    Amazing that you’ve got them into this reward thing…but dont let it go overboard, or this reward soon turns into a bribe…which causes all sorts of behaviour problems later…

    I cannot imagine how I managed for Saboor without diapers…diapers were a big luxury then….I remember using Nappy Pads…in his nappies and that too only at night…and by the time he was Az’s age, he would get up and sit in the night and I would have to take him to the loo….Az is a slow learner compared to Sab!!

    Yep…we gotta meet up…Let’s make it one evening after five thirty? There’s a park right opposite Reliance Fresh….we could meet there…

    Reply
  2. Siri

    Gah! That’s all I can say after reading this post. Yikes. I hope you have a manual ready and handy for me when it is my turn.

    Reply
  3. poupee97

    Andy: I don’t mind bribing them with juice – it’s good for them, anyway. You had Saboor trained for the night breaks before he was two? Hats off to you! All I’ve read and heard says that that takes till they are anywhere between 3 and 5.

    Siri: All I can do is refer you to the manuals I’m using – a couple of good books and the bottomless pit of the Internet, specially blogland.

    Reply
  4. AM

    For those of you with a good imagination, here is a picture: Mrini, with her pants off and butt up in the air, kneeling over and pushing two of her blocks along the floor all over the house. Believe me, toilet training is fun :-). I could post a picture, but it would probably be categorized as inappropriate content.

    Reply
  5. doug H

    I can actually recall the final stage of my toilet training. Let’s see, I was in my late twenties….

    Just kidding. I was approaching 3, I think.
    I was napping on the bed. I woke up just as my mother walked into the room.
    Her entering the room must have awakened me. As I looked around the room in my freshly awakened state, I happened to glance in the general vicinity of my behind. There were some tiny lumps there on the sheet. They looked like bugs. I freaked!
    “What are those??!!” I asked my mom in a near panic.
    She explained, and I understood. And I always managed to make it to the bathroom after that. I was literally scared sh**less into becoming toilet trained!

    (If any of that story was in bad taste, my apologies. But it actually happened.)

    You have Tropicana orange juice there? That’s interesting. Do oranges grow in India? I suppose they must. Anyway, there’s something about fresh orange juice…it always seems to me like I’m drinking liquid sunshine.

    And I don’t even need an incentive to drink it.

    Wishing you continued jollies in the toilet training department.

    Reply
  6. poupee97

    Doug: That’s not in bad taste – highly appropriate, given the nature of the blog. 🙂

    Lubi: Brave? I wish. But thanks.

    Reply
  7. Siri

    Is all ok? You generally blog more often so I was wondering if it was the toilet training boot camp or something else 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

