Toilet-Training The Twins: Trying, Trying

As far as toilet training the twins is concerned, I still don’t know whether I’m coming or going. Pondicherry was a welcome break for all of us, but now that we’re back home, we’re back to the pee and poo mess too, I’m afraid. I’m trying very hard to be patient and gentle and not put any pressure on them, just like all the books and websites say, but I have to admit that at times it’s pretty much impossible. It’s a little easier now that the depression has passed and I’m back to a (somewhat delicate) stable state; it’s also easier with only one of them – currently Mrini – going diaperless at a time; but it’s still difficult not to lose it and force the girl to sit on the pot when you can clearly see that she’s desperate to go but she’s just running around in circles like a chicken with it’s head cut off (or so they say – I’ve never personally never seen one). Mrini seems to have completely taken against the pot and will not sit on it at any cost. Her current favourite place to let loose is the shower stall, which is ok with me, being generally easy to clean, or the bathmat, which is less nice. Apart from those, she’s not picky about anywhere in the rest of the house, though she has so far spared her high chair and our bed (but not her own).

Tara, as long as she was diaperless before the Pondy trip, seemed to have less bladder-control and therefore provided more mess for me to clean up. Right now, she seems really eager to use the pot, so I probably should provide her the opportunity by leaving her bare-bottomed for a few days, while I allow Mrini the luxury of diapers again. But then again, Mrini seems to be developing a level of confidence with the shower stall, so maybe I should just persist with her.

Or maybe I should bare both bottoms? Horrors…

2 thoughts on “Toilet-Training The Twins: Trying, Trying

Leave a Reply

