They Grow Up So Fast!

Remember the car I said we bought the twins last weekend? (I mentioned it here.) Well, after completely ignoring it for a couple of days, they suddenly rediscovered the joys of driving, and since then they have explored the potentialities of the vehicle to the fullest extent. Tara attempted a wheelie (I know you can’t do wheelies on four wheels, but try telling her that) and Mrini found that you could stand up on it, and if you could get your mom or sis to push you around while doing so, so much the better. Then I tied a string around the front of it, so they started pulling each other around with that. This morning, while I was in the kitchen getting breakfast ready, I heard Tara saying “come” “go” “come” “go”… On turning around, I saw she was actually pulling and pushing the car, with Mrini sitting on it. What a smartie.

Then, there was the harmonica. This is a colourful model, made for kids, but it works just the same as a typical, traditional one. It was gifted to them by a friend some weeks ago. At first, Mrini was scared of it (typical – after all, it makes a sound!) and Tara was intrigued. After a while, Mrini got over her fear, but still hadn’t taken much of a fancy to it, while Tara was always under the impression that it could be used like a toothbrush to brush her teeth and deposit a healthy load of drool on. Once duly drenched, she would present it to me, grinning, expecting me to get it to make a sound. Ugh!

They watched me, interested, and tried to ape me, but completely without success: They didn’t yet know how to… errr… suck and blow. So, whatever they did, they couldn’t get it to make a sound, except once or twice by mistake.

Finally, yesterday evening, Tara managed, much to her own surprise, to produce a tiny peep from it, and then managed to do it again. And again. And again. Mrini, for once, somehow picked it up from Tara right away. (I say “for once” because other skills that Tara has achieved ahead of Mrini, it has taken Mrini ages and ages to catch up on.) By the end of the evening, both girls were blowing away quite competently. And today they not only learnt that inhaling also produced sound, but also began to make slightly different sounds by sliding the harmonica around a little. By the end of the day, they were actually producing tiny little tunes on it!

So these are their two significant achievements of the week. There are others, of course, but too many and too tedious to narrate. It’s great to watch though – it’s absolutely wonderful to see them growing in skills, expanding their vocabulary, watching their attempts to communicate with each other and with us, and most of all, seeing their ever increasing confidence and out-going-ness. It’s just amazing.

4 thoughts on “They Grow Up So Fast!

  1. Siri

    I know that I shouldnt compare cats and kids in any way but when I first got my two cats it was a wonder to watch how they learned- and fast! It still amazes me that one of my cats figured out a way to keep the closet door open while the both of them gorged on their food which we keep hidden in the closet for good reason.
    I only hope that it was an accident and not intentional, which is scary! 🙂

    Reply
  2. poupee97

    Siri: Well, many’s the time I’ve found myself comparing kids to puppies! They even learn the same things. Like today, Tara heard Amit remote lock the car downstairs, and immediately came and told me he was home. My dogs used to do that when they heard my parents drive in eight storeys below. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

